Standard vs auto for muddier/beginner crawler?

first off, I am an experienced standard driver. But I’m starting my search for a TJ and want it for light crawling and mudding. Part of me thinks an auto would be a better fit. Could someone point me in the right direction to possibly help me make a descision?

I’m bias but automatic AW4! Great first gear.

That is what I was thinking too.

My buddy filled his aw4 with water 3 times and used power steering fluid in it and it still works just fine. My preference is auto no worries about rolling back wards on hills or rocks. And only 2 pedals to play with and 2 feet to work them

Manual shifts are fine if you have the granny low first and deep axle gearing. The 4:1 transfer case found in Rubicon models is also nice.

Otherwise automatic.

Appreciate all the info guys.

I started off in my TJ with a stick… although it was good, I found that I always had to shift at the worst times…by the way it is amazing how fast you can start a jeep while rolling backwards…ha… I ended up switching my TJ from a stick to an AW4 and love it!

I have a stick on my JK and TJ have been offroading the TJ for 5+ years now and with the addition of a hand throttle see no reason to have a Automatic… i like the ability to try a hill starting off in second gear or to crawl a little slower/faster and keep it in one gear. My first JK was a automatic and I am happier with the 6 speed for the most part…

Plus if you believe facebook a stick is a great theft deterrent. :laughing:

I have the Aw4 and without fail I can handle anything in my clearance and a little higher than my jeep can handle. I am rough on my jeep even daily driving and never fail my auto works great. I drive standard and on the trail I prefer auto for a few of the previously stated reasons.

Is the aw4 standard on a TJ?

Sent from my Moto X pure edition using tapatalk