YJ Build

so i’m new to the whole leaf spring thing and square headlights…

i acquired a yj from a friend of mine for a steal. the plan is for this to be my trail rig but still FL street legal. keeping it cheap cheap right now… man if i hadn’t gotten rid of all those usable spare parts :blush: i want to just run my 34’s for now. the rear frame has some typical rot so i’ll have to incorporate that into the first round of the build.

the question is what would you have done differently? spring under or over? backhalf it? keep in mind i’ll be driving it to trail rides

nice, good luck

Copy AJ or Jay. Both have gone through the DO and then REDO phase. . .

Cheap lift - Spring over.

why do you say spring over Mike?

4 link the rear for near the same cost? leaf springs up front. i was thinking of moving the gas tank into the back and using something like this… artecindustries.com/TJYJ-Bac … p_389.html

and just run coil springs for now. i have to do rear frame patching, i think i have a lot of wire brushing to do too and some detective work to see how far the rot goes.

or do i just get a pair of the Safe T Caps and run with it

Remove rust before repairing or else its just a hack job.

BDS or Rubicon Express if you are sticking with leafs. Building a triangulated 4-link rear should be fairly straightforward.

I would do the opposite, 3 link the front & run a set of BDS springs in the back sprung over, or 3 & 4 link the whole thing. DO NOT RUSH INTO IT, thats how I ended up changeing springs 3 times. wasted a lot of $$$$$$.

4" BDS spring under. quick, easy, effective. (disclaimer; this is only my opinion, if others disagree, i don’t care. lol)

Lol

The deal breaker will be how much solid frame I have left.

h9FBCE218.jpg

I agree wiyh axle, I switched to BDS springs & luv em, do not waste your money on rough country springs. fix the frame, spring under with new springs, some boom shacles & away you go, & toss sway & track bars away.

Congrats on the yj…