Anyone have a Warn winch??

Im trouble shooting my Warn 8000 that works intermittenly. I bypassed the remote and solonoids and the motor works fine in both directions which means its either the remote or the solonoids. If anyone has a Warn winch 5 pin remote please let me know so i can drive out and plug it in so i can see if its the remote or the solonoids.

we can test the remote with a continuity tester

Good idea on the meter I will give that a shot. I also found an article that explains how to test the solenoids with a volt meter and I’m gonna give that a shot tonight to test them. Basically it says when the solonoid energizes i should have 12 volts across the large lugs and when actuated i should have 12 volts across the two small lugs. I think I have that right.

if you need help let me know, im an electrician

When I tested it with my meter last night I had 12 volts between the positive and ground but when I pushed the remote switch I only got 3/4 of a volt across two of the solonoids in forward and same 3/4 of a volt on the other 2 in reverse.

hmmm… i would have to see it… not enough information

Just let me know where and when your available I would appreciate the help.

im free tomorrow… and im in west warwick

Thanks for the help today. While we didnt get it fixed we narrowed the problem down a bit more.

so what do u have it narrowed down to?

Well the motor is good. The selonoids are also good so its either the wiring to the selonoids from the remote cap or the remote itself. I still need to get my hands on a 5 pin Warn remote and I hear there is a shop in New Bedford somewhere that has them so if I can find it I can test to see if thats it.

cant u test the controller with a continuity test? do u have a voltmeter? u might need a wiring diag of the controller but it shouldnt be too hard to figure out